Another guest post, this time from Sarah Calvert, an NCT practitioner (and award-winning volunteer) from Barnsley in South Yorkshire

 

My NCT story began at the start of 2005 when I was pregnant with my first baby. Someone said to me that I should do NCT antenatal classes as she had found them invaluable, particularly for meeting new people. As I was living away from family and didn’t know anyone else with a baby this was really important to me. I had not heard of the NCT at this point and little did I know how life changing the NCT’s influence would be on me.

We attended our course, learnt loads and made some great friends who we had a 10-year reunion with at the end of last year, but the biggest change for me came a couple of years later when I had moved back north and was once again in search of new friends. When a new NCT branch opened in Barnsley I joined the committee, got really involved and then started thinking about training as an Antenatal Teacher.

I’d been thinking about it for a while but my branch chair really encouraged me. I started in late 2007 and I’ve never looked back. When my middle child was born I decided that I would leave my job as a secondary school teacher to focus on my NCT work and it’s been the best decision I ever made. It’s given me the opportunity to do a job I absolutely love whilst being able to stay home with my 2nd and 3rd children.

Apart from my work with the NCT almost all of my close friends (who I know will be lifelong) are women I have met through the NCT in one way or another and for that I will be eternally grateful. I’ve had some difficult times over that last few years and it has been these great friends and colleagues who I am lucky to call my friends who have got me through.

As an NCT Practitioner I know what a huge privilege it is to work with people who are approaching such a significant life transition and am so pleased that I can be instrumental in them making their new lifelong friendships.

