Another old post recovered from Draft status.

I had planned to add several more pictures of bridges as I find them wonderfully beautiful. Another day, perhaps.

I spent Christmas rereading Ariana Franklin’s (aka Diana Norman) The Serpent’s Tale. It’s set in the time of Henry II, around Christmas, and the frozen river Thames and a bridge across it play a fairly major part. At one point in the story the author writes about how precious and sacred bridges were to the populations they served. This must have stuck in my mind, because when I went out (with my new camera!) with Sparky on Christmas Day I ended up on the bridge we used to cross on our summer route home from school.

bridge1-dec08

bridge2-dec08

I have no idea how old the stonework is. The ugly metal rails were added relatively recently. We would lean on them as we played pooh sticks.

