I know, I’m being a lousy blogger. Lots of stuff has happened (and photographs have been taken) but marshalling thoughts to write about them has been too much for me.

Biggest thing: Son-in-the-Middle has left home for university, although he is currently home for the weekend and explaining the finer points of theoretical physics coursework to his younger brother. I do miss him, even though he’s only 10 miles away and easily contactable by IM, SMS and email. However I have also been amazed by how much head space I’ve gained with one son out of the house and Firstborn old enough to look after himself . Third-and-final suddenly has undivided attention from me and his father!

Consequently I am thinking about work and career options much more. New things are happening, which I will be getting paid for eventually, but I could really  do with a salaried position to start digging my way out of my pit of debt.

I am very, very lucky to have acquired a fabulous mentor, who has so much faith in me and is making a big effort to introduce me to people and extol my skills. So I have to (wo)man-up; time to abandon old habits such as avoiding doing things due to my fear of failure or letting people down.

Unfortunately, increasing independence in my children is coinciding with decreases in health for my parents. I did not appreciate the first decade of parenthood enough – the one where my sons were relatively biddable and I knew where they were at all times, and when my parents were fit and healthy and did not need hospital visits and accompanying to time-consuming doctor appointments!

Husband and I are moving into new and interesting times, what with the changes noted above plus the physical changes I can feel happening in my body. I am 45 years old – need to spend much more time taking care of my general health. Only problem is,  so many things I would like to do such as going to a yoga class, having a massage, going horseriding again, need time and particularly money. Which I don’t have.

So everything hinges on job searching.

 

 

 

