cameratest1-feb09

Sparky and I tried a camera settings test at Oakwell Hall. The pic above is using the Auto setting, and the picture below is the snow setting. All these pictures are straight out of the camera; there has been no fiddling with light levels etc.

cameratest2-feb091

I could see no difference. But m’husband, with his professional eye, could: “Look in the bottom right corner,” he enthused. “Can’t you see how much lighter it is on the snow setting?” Well, kinda.

cameratest3-feb09

This is a favourite tree of mine, and I also liked the way the snow topped the horizontal branches. The first pic is on auto.

cameratest4-feb091

The second pic is on snow setting.

cameratest5-feb09

And then, just to see what would happen, for the third pic I set the camera to ‘leaf’.

I can’t swear to any actual differences, but for some reason I prefer the leaf setting picture best. However, despite my efforts to take each pic from exactly the same spot and angle, I appeared to have shuffled a little as I adjusted the camera. So that may explain my preference also.

I think I have a long way to go before I get a photographer’s eye.

