Everything I read, I come across people saying they aren’t sending Christmas cards because it’s a waste of money/ not ecofriendly/ why bother when we have the internet etc etc.

I take their points, but I would like to add an alternative point of view – one of the loveliest things I know is getting proper post. Post with nice white envelopes and stamps, containing thoughts from a friend or relation, rather than franked brown envelopes containing an invoice, credit card statement or reminder to book a cervical smear test.

Consequently I will never abandon sending Christmas cards, and I also try to send most of mine through the post, rather than hand delivering them. Admittedly my mailout is rather late this year, as I spent nearly a week trying to find my address book, but most of them are on their way right now and it feels good.

christmas-card1

Here are my favourite cards for sending out this year. I bought two packs at the Horse of the Year Show. I always look out for cards which involve Christmas carols, as I love singing them, and the horses, dogs and sheep involvement made them perfect.

christmas-card2

However it was a mistake buying only two packs. I did this as we have a box full of cards left over from previous years and I wanted to use them up, but once I started writing I loved the new cards so much I wanted to send them to all my closest friends and relations. Unfortunately I ran out too soon, but on the good side it means I absolutely must get to HOYS again next year so I can buy more.

Go on, do it! Think of a friend and post them a card.

