Birstall is an old, old village. It’s not that big, and has been getting a little run down, but in its heyday it was part of the pre-industrial textile trade and consequently home to some of the first Luddites. Now the market place, small though it is, has had a revamp and, today, played host for the first time to an Italian Market.

italy2-nov08

Beautiful veggies. Just look at the shine on those tomatoes.

italy3-nov08

Yummy pastries. These had chocolate paste in the middle and chocolate chips on top. I split one with my sister-in-law and my one year old nephew opened his mouth very wide for his share.

italy4-nov08

Giant loaves of sourdough bread – yum, yum,yum. Perfect with the carrot and cheese soup I made yesterday.

italy5-nov08

The olive oils were incredible, and I bought two bottles for Christmas presents.

italy6-nov08

italy1-nov08

We were also treated to a couple of street performers with a wheeled gondola and a stereo blasting out Italian classics. Although possibly the funniest moment was when one of the Italian stallholders was heard asking what they were singing, so obviously these are ‘Italian’ classics a la England rather than your genuine article.

The Italian Market is on again tomorrow, so if you are anywhere near Birstall give it a go. The little cakes looked great, but I’d spent up by the time I got there so I decided not to torture myself by taking a photo. Sorry.

