I made a Victoria sandwich cake and a dozen butterfly buns.

I fed one butterfly bun to m’husband, who had just staggered in from work. That leaves 11. Then I walked round to the Co-op to fetch more sugar for my next batch of baking.

When I returned, 10 minutes later, I walked into the kitchen to find – just TWO butterfly buns remaining. I ran through the house, shouting “Who’s eaten all the buns!” Sons denied all knowledge. Then we noticed that Sparky was crawling round on her belly, looking extremely repentant. Yes, she had wolfed down NINE BUTTERFLY BUNS leaving not a trace of crumb, paper case or buttercream. She did not get any tea.

Firstborn son then polished off one more butterfly bun. This is as close as Sparky is ever going to get to a butterfly bun again:

I then got into an intense online discussion with American friends about the description and recipe for a butterfly bun. Once we had got through the usual quantity confusion (I say grams, they say cups; I say ‘gas mark’, they say fahrenheit) it came down to an issue of cake versus bun, and the size of the tins. Here are mine, to save future confusion:

That’s firstborn with tape measure, bun tin, a Victoria sandwich cake on the right and the last remaining butterfly bun balanced on the bun tin.

That’s my bun tin on the right, and my muffin tin on the left. However I suspect this is smaller than an American muffin tin, as when I make muffins from The Genuine American Cookie and Muffin Book, by Peter Shaffer (written by an American transplanted to North Yorkshire, all measures and ingredients translated into English) I always have more mixture than required for the dozen muffins the book says it will make. But I feel overfaced by an American muffin, so I’ll stick with the smaller tin size.

And finally, the Victoria sandwich cake (again) plus the chocolate sponge with chocolate whipped cream and chocolate ganache I just made for my oldest friend’s birthday:

Try not to feel sick.

