love_chiips_art.jpg

Here’s another of the pics I found for Valentine’s Day. Aren’t those chips fab? We did actually eat fish and chips for tea yesterday, although they weren’t heart shaped. They came from The Scarborough Fisheries in Thornhill, long renowned as the home of good fryers. There’s a new guy in charge, a former Army chef, and he is keeping a fine tradition going. I’m told his puddings – rhubarb crumble, for example – are also excellent, but I only ordered fish and chips four times, a collop and a spam fritter. It’s years since I had a spam fritter and it was pretty good, even though I don’t have the same yen for super fatty foods as I had when I was younger.

 When sons and I got home with the hot bag of fried food, m’husband was waiting with hot plates, a hot pot of tea, salt and vinegar and brown bread and butter.

Perfection.

