My resolution is not going well. Although I still have The Cold… or maybe I should just stop making excuses and amend it to ‘I will post a picture several times a week’?

I was chatting with friends on a private blog about aspirations for 2008, and I was hard pushed to come up with any other than ‘earn more money’. Everything feels like a real grind at the moment, possibly made worse by the unrelenting greyness of the January sky and the slippy, sliding mud under foot. So I freed a space in my head for thinking about something good I would like to achieve. Something that would stretch me out of my comfort zone.

What I have come up with is doing a Challenge Ride. I’ve thought about this before, but it wasn’t an overwhelming urge and so it went on the back burner. However, this Christmas my sister has had a bad MS attack. She doesn’t like being fussed over, or even talking about it particularly, which doesn’t calm my feelings of wanting to do something, anything, to be helpful. So I’m thinking that if I booked the Challenge Ride (which would actually take place in 2009) I could do that to raise funds for the Multiple Sclerosis Society and the National Childbirth Trust (that’s the charity I teach antenatal classes for).

The challenge for me, strangely, wouldn’t be the riding, but the fundraising required. I hate asking people for money, and I have absolutely no faith in my ability to raise it. I’m also not very confident about getting fit,  and definitely not confident about losing enough weight so that I can be properly horsed. I will have to lose at least three stones (42lb).

Wish me luck. I am off to find if a few other friends want to join me, but if not I’m booking to go on my own. In the meantime, here’s a lovely summery picture; me and Duke at the Dales Pony Society summer show at Barnard Castle, Northumberland, a couple of years ago. Note the beautiful blue sky and the soft green grass!

Duke, summer show

