I’ve been thinking about this blog having some sort of focus. Apparently many tail off after a relatively short time and researchers reckon it’s because they don’t have much of a point, so I decided to find one.

It has to be about something that’s important to me, and for a little while I thought my blogging attempts would be about family as I do tend to define myself in terms of my siblings and close relatives. However the more I thought about it, the more I found that quite restrictive as, despite loving my family dearly, they also drive me to gibbering rage fairly frequently. My next thought was food which plays a large – too large – part in my life, and this was also why it was rejected. Not only is it rather sad, I’m trying to get less dependent. The odd recipe may feature, but I’m determined that my food habit won’t be the focus of my life.

Then it came to me – I love being places. My home is good, but I like to get out and about and it doesn’t matter whether it’s country, town or city, I like them all. I grew up in the country and loved it. I still desperately miss it as I now live in a market town, but at the same time I really enjoy my town life and the stuff I couldn’t do as a young country bumpkin, like walking to the shops. And I regularly go into the city, and really appreciate that it is relatively close and its facilities – universities, libraries, bookshops and good bra shops! – are available.

More on my favourite places will follow….

