We’ve been to Northumberland, which has fabulous castles and beautiful beaches. I also found – and bought several packets of -possibly the best oatcakes in the world, Stockan and Gardens Original Orkney Oatcakes (thick) which, when paired with a good cheddar, make the perfect snack on the beach. Fabulous views, fresh sea smells, birdsong in the background and the perfect taste.

 I finally made it to Barter Books, an amazing secondhand bookshop in Alnwick, near the castle. I say ‘finally’ because I’ve seen it before but my husband has always driven past as quickly as he could, however this time I insisted on stopping. It’s in an old Victorian railway station, so it’s beautiful, and is packed with everything from mass market paperbacks to first editions. I found a Diana Norman hardback, Daughter of Lir, for only a fiver, a Dick Francis paperback, a History of British Native Ponies for my dad, and my youngest son was happy as he found three Star Wars novels. Then I found two more Dick Francis paperbacks in a box of books at the lifeboat station at Seahouses. So, a good holiday for my reading habit.

The weather was gorgeous, and it’s even warmer now we’re home. I gardened yesterday in a vest top, cropped trousers and bare feet, and had to keep reminding myself that it’s only April. Lord only knows how hot it’s going to get this summer.

